Confessions of…(#17)

a woman, a mother, a wife.

  
This is my husband’s office. Yes, he is a pilot. Yes, he is gone… a lot! Yes, we are married, but I refuse to identify myself as a “pilot’s wife”. I hear it more than I care to.  

Our lifestyles are very different than most. I, many times over the years, have referred to myself as a single, married mother. I spend over half of the month away from my husband. I knew the chances of this happening well before we were married. I knew what I was getting into when I said “I do”. I knew his days of being home every night weren’t going to last forever. In fact, they only lasted about 7 months after we were wed. The first time he left home for work he was gone 6 to 8 weeks. That was one heck-of-a initiation into the pilot family lifestyle. Go ahead, ask me about my appendectomy!  It’s a darn good thing I am an independent woman who can run a household and take care of herself and any little grandiose emergency that pops up when the hubby is away. Murphy lives in the basement and comes out to play as soon as the pilot is away!  The further away from home the bigger the mess.  

What I can’t stand, and didn’t anticipate, is the label that came with it…. “pilot’s wife”. I am many things including a former homeschooling mom, a darn good cook, a sharp shooter, talented, fun, out going, a bit shy when meeting new people. Why is his profession so different that the wives are identified as being a pilot’s wife? I am more than being married to what he does. 
I never heard anyone refer to my mother as a CPA’s wife. How about my brother’s wife? She’s an aquatics director’s wife. Seriously! It drives me a bit batty. I could say “frost my jets” but that might be taking it a bit too far.  😉

 

One thought on “Confessions of…(#17)

Leave a Reply

