We call it “My Seven Layer Salad”

We call it “My Seven Layer Salad”

But oddly enough, I don’t layer it, and I’m not sure there are seven layers in it anymore.  Growing up, I had eaten this salad many times.  However, it WAS layered and beautiful to look at.  Seven layers of lettuce, celery, onion, bell pepper, frozen peas, dressing, and bacon bits all served up in a glass dish.  It was a beauty to behold and so crisp and fresh. With the advent of summer we have had our first few salads of the year. And with each one we remark how delicious and satisfying it is.

Had another one this afternoon and there is something about it.  Not sure what it is.  My daughter says it’s the dressing.  (which very little of is needed). But maybe it’s everything else we have added/subtracted from the original.    My “Seven Layer Salad” looks much different from its inspiration salad. As much as I like the flavor of bell peppers, they don’t like me.  My husband doesn’t like peas so they only party on my plate. and other ingredients have found their way into the mix.  I don’t layer it anymore due to the different taste of each family member… the dressing however, is constant on all plates.  And even the dressing is different from the “original”.  Very similar, but different enough.

For this summer tradition we gather:

  • greens romaine lettuce and spinach are our go-to
  • thick slices of deli meat and cheese that we cut into chunks smoked turkey, smoked ham, baby swiss*
  • boiled egg
  • carrots
  • mushrooms
  • red onions
  • green onions
  • grilled corn (cut off cob and chilled)
  • celery
  • cucumber
  • tomato
  • Parmesan cheese, shaved
  • french fried onions (instead of croutons for an extra added crunch and saltiness)

*You can go to your grocer’s deli and request the deli meats sliced thick.  Tell them roughly 3/4″.  At my store I can request they use the #10 setting. You’ll want close to a pound of meats and half a pound of baby swiss.

The dressing:

  • 3/4 cup Mayo
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, grated
  • juice of a half lemon
  • a dash of Worcestershire sauce
  • cracked black pepper

The measurements for the dressing ingredients are WAGs.  I honestly don’t measure out these ingredients.  It isn’t baking, where measurements are exact.  It’s a make-til-ya-like-it kinda of dressing.  I like a nice thick, loaded with tons of cheese, kinda of dressing.  The flavor resembles a Caesar dressing.  It is sooooooooooo very good.  I use very little of it on my salad.  The flavors in the salad alone are enough to carry it, but the salad wouldn’t be the same without it.

Hope you like it as much as we do.

Enjoy y’all

Leave a Reply

